SterlingPro French Coffee Press Review

81YDlOMdH1L._SL1500_
The SterlingPro French Coffee Press makes my second french press coffee maker. Because the first is still going strong I purchased this one specifically with the intention of brewing loose-leaf tea. I was able to get it at a discounted price in exchange for an honest review of it. I had read some previous reviews and wasn’t sure what to expect from it. I’m happy to report that is still is one piece and going strong.

IMG_20150923_163447_785
When you receive it the directions are very specific about how to care for the carafe. It says it’s made of durable, heat-resistant borosilicate glass. Then they recommend you preheat the carafe with warm water and only add water once it’s cooled a bit.

IMG_20150923_220456_785
I decided to do a few tests. I started my first test as a dishwasher run since my settings don’t get too hot. It came out fine and I was able to reassemble it in under a minute. For my second test I pre-warmed the carafe with tap water and only added water that was 182 degrees, a tiny bit higher than their recommended temperature. I did the last test run without pre-warming it at all and added water immediately after it came to a boil. I let it steep/rest for 15 minutes that time. I didn’t find a single crack. Basically, I have no problem using it in the same way I do my other french press.

It has a double screen system which I actually like quite a bit. It kept all of the tea leaves out of my cup (which is a common problem with my other press.) It also comes with two additional screens. Those are the only pieces I ever need to replace. Having extras from the get-go is a wonderful addition to what is already a good french press.

IMG_20150923_163520_695
The only con I did see might have been a slight defect in my specific unit. The metal cage wasn’t aligned perfectly so it has a tiny wobble when sitting on a flat service. Had I not been closely examining it for my review I might not have even noticed. It’s not especially troublesome.

Overall, the SterlingPro French Coffee Press is a good french press. I was very pleased to try it out.

Leave a Reply

